Made 4 Math Monday #3

This past week all sorts of math bloggers have been posting their school supplies haul ( @druinok, @fouss) and I was getting super jelly. So I overcompensated and went to Walmart, Target, and Michael’s. I got a bunch of great stuff for my classroom! One thing I got, well I got 30 of them, were rulers. Last year being my first year teaching I had zero supplies and I always had to ask other teachers for their stuff. The things I borrowed most were: rulers, whiteboards, scissors, and protractors. Since I’m not teaching Geometry this year I figure I can hold off on the protractors but I did buy the rulers and also a class set of dry-erase pockets. I’m also planning to make whiteboards out of shower board a la @fnoschese.

To keep my rulers together I, along with many other #made4math -ers went out and bought some pringles. After the cans got gobbled up by my family I wiped them clean and put on some patterned duct tape. I picked the checkers because I thought they would be the easiest pattern to line up out of my vast collection of duct tape.

I think they turned out pretty schnazzy!

Next thing I was inspired to do was a teaching binder. I’ve seen a ton on the web but they have all been for elementary until @druinok made hers, so fair warning a bunch of the stuff I have was taken from her post. The thing I like about this binder was that I made everything to custom fit my needs, or at least what I think my needs are as of now. I’m sure the binder will morph throughout the year but for now I’m really satisfied with it.

First off I made a nice cover for my binder so that I could spot it from anywhere in the room if needed.

Then in the first few page protectors I put in the school calendar and all the different bell schedules. Then came my calendar. Although I made a monthly and weekly calendar, which I love still, I redid them for the binder so they were black and white and all one direction.

Next I have my lesson plans. I will be teaching Algebra 1 and Math 3 (an Integrated Alg. 2 course) next year so it was nice that I made this template myself instead of having one that was meant for 3+ preps.

After my lesson plans, I have a place for my to-do lists because I’m obsessed with them. I always have a trillion post it notes flying around the room because I need reminders, hopefully with this I can just stick them on the page and hopefully have an easier time remembering everything I want/need to do.

All that’s left are my parent communication logs, my meeting notes, and then a section for miscellaneous items because I know I will have some.

Well that is my binder as of this moment! Tips I have are print your section covers out on card stock to make them sturdy and on the other side put a master copy of whatever goes in that section, that way when you need to make a copy you don’t have to run to your computer and print a new one out you can just go straight to the copier! Also if you do a calendar you might want to print it out on thicker paper since if you are like me you get a little rough flipping back and forth between the pages.

Now I will leave you with my favorite purchase! I had a 40% off coupon to Michael’s as well as them having a teacher discount, so I snagged this poster of my main squeeze. Seriously I would go back and forth between him and the pink ranger for my Halloween costume every year.

A lot of people have been asking me to email them my files – I figured just posting them might be easier!!!

To-Do List

Parent Contact Log

Meeting Notes

Lesson Plans

And then here are my dividers: (Click on the image to make them full size)

By the way check out this post to see how these were made :)

 

29 thoughts on “Made 4 Math Monday #3

  1. Your projects look great! The Pringles ruler container is next on my to-do list. I also LOVE the poster, I will definitely be going to Michael’s tomorrow to try to find it!

  2. I absolutely love your teacher binder!! It is hard to find stuff like this for high school teachers!! Would you consider emailing me all of your files to make the folder? I sure would appreciate it!! I am an Algebra 2 teacher. carla.daltonbirdvilleschoolsnet

  3. love love lovee your binder. i have been looking for one with my style and yours is perfect! would you mind sending me the documents you use (including covers, etc) by chance? please and thank you so much. i am now in my first ‘full’ year of teaching and so excited. i only taught one semester so im excited for a first new start. thanks! ekraly@gmail.com

  4. You are sooo amazing!!! I really got something started by asking for your files, huh? ;) I just want you to know that before you posted the dividers, I followed your post about creating them and OMG!!!! I did it!!! Such great instructions!!! Now I am going graphic crazy!! Making everything have colorful graphics!!! Love it!!! Thank you so much!!! Can you tell me how you made the fancy middle bubble on your dividers? I can only do a rounded rectangle…not as fancy!!!

    • They are digital frames. Look around on tpt for some free stuff or else I’m pretty sure there are some sellers on etsy for like 3 bucks. The ones for my divider I did on photoshop. If I find a link this afternoon I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

