Made 4 Math Monday #2

For over a year I have been envious of the “Teacher Toolbox.” When the #made4math creation happened I knew that it would be the perfect opportunity to actually make one. From what I can tell the first one ever comes from create-teach-share. I’ve pinned probably over 5 different versions of these because I’m so in lurve with them. It’s great for me because organization is what keeps me sane. I love how knowing where things are can literally save me hours in the long run. Last year I bought little drawer organizers but I didn’t like the fact that I still had to group things together because of limited size options of the organizers. The teacher toolbox is the perfect compromise. It allows me to organize everything I have in it’s own little space without taking up too much room. I haven’t seen my new classroom but I’m sure I’ll have a place for it, ideally it will go on a table against a wall behind my desk so that everything I need is just a chair spin away! Not to mention it gives me an excuse to twirl around relentlessly. “Oh I grabbed a pen – silly me I wanted a pencil *spin spin spin*. ”

Want to make your own teacher toolbox?! Then keep reading!

Step 1: Get in yo’ car and head for the home improvement store!

I know for a fact that both Lowe’s and Home Depot both carry the 22 stack on drawers – they also have 2 other sizes but I liked this one best. It costs about $16 so try to get a coupon before heading out. I had a $10 off $50 which meant I had to spend $50 (keep tuned in to see what else I bought in another #made4math post).

Step 2: Make some labels!!

There are 8 large drawers 2.12″ x 4.25″ and 14 small drawers 1.38″ x 2″. I made them on photoshop but another option is scrapbook paper, construction paper, microsoft word, etc. I made the labels based on my particular needs. For example in a lot of the elementary examples I had seen they have a space for brads. I don’t use those (I had to look them up to figure out what they even were :P). Below is a pdf of my labels in case you want them! Tip: I printed them out on cardstock – this makes them extra sturdy!

Stick your labels in using double stick tape and you are done! Another cosmetic option is to spray paint the skeleton, this blogger has photos of the process.

I chose to keep mine grey for now but if I were to paint it I would go with white, I’m just a little worried about wear and tear with white. Here she is in all her glory – my teacher toolbox!

I love it!!!

So what do you think #made4math -ers will you be making a teacher toolbox???

10 comments

  1. Michele Moroni

    Perfect timing…I just purchased the Toolbox! Thanks so much for the lables they are fantastic…love the chevron!!
    Have been looking at Adobe programs lately to create docs with design, but have no background experience except for Print Master, Print Artist. Which Photoshop do you suggest i start out with? Is it true that there is a steep learning curve? Thanks for your insight. Much appreciated!

    • mathtastrophe

      Well I’ve never heard of the two programs you mentioned but I’ve used Photoshop CS3 on up, they are pretty similar in my opinion. That being said I started using PS when I was 14 and just taught myself, but there are thousands of tutorials online! I’m still learning quite honestly, but I tend to prefer really simple designs which don’t need much skill :)

  2. Carey Prantalos

    I tried to print your labels, but it said I had to become a premium member to scribd. Is that the only way to access them?

        • mathtastrophe

          Have you uploaded anything to scribd? Its a sharing site so if you share stuff it will let you download things other people have shared. Otherwise I don’t know the problem because I’m a free member and I download things all of the time.

Leave a Reply

